Tag Archives: erase

How to permanently remove files in Ubuntu/linux and make them unrecoverable by NickMcDTV

AddThis

How to shred (permanently delete) files from your Hard Disks on Ubuntu Linux

In our last post we examined the possibility to recover deleted data from USB keys and disks. Today we want to focus your attention on the proper way to destroy sensitive data from your disks.

On Ubuntu you have the possibility to move any file to the Trash but, as we demonstrate in our last post, anyone has the possibility to recover them using a simple, basic GUI, program called PhotoRec.

If you want to be reasonably sure that none will be able to recover a file you decided to permanently delete you have to use the Shred command. Shred is native in Ubuntu Kernel and literally delete your files overwriting them repeatedly with arbitrary data. After you delete a file with Shred you can be sufficiently sure that recovering procedures will not succeed.

As usual we must warn you that technology is rapidly evolving and what could be considered sure today, tomorrow will be out of date! So, if you think you need to preserve your privacy in the best way, don’t forget to change the hard disks regularly and mechanically destroy your old ones. Sincerely we hope our readers haven’t this kind of need.

To start using Shred on Ubuntu you have to open a Terminal and type:

sudo shred –help

In this way you will visualize the grammar and all the possible options offered by this program.

The correct grammar to use Shred is:

shred [OPTIONS] FILE

or, if you want to shred a entire partition:

shred [OPTIONS] /dev/[HDA9]

The possible options are:

  -f, –force    change permissions to allow writing if necessary
-n, –iterations=N  overwrite N times instead of the default (3)
–random-source=FILE  get random bytes from FILE
-s, –size=N   shred this many bytes (suffixes like K, M, G accepted)
-u, –remove   truncate and remove file after overwriting
-v, –verbose  show progress
-x, –exact    do not round file sizes up to the next full block;
this is the default for non-regular files
-z, –zero     add a final overwrite with zeros to hide shredding
–help     display this help and exit
–version  output version information and exit

In our experience, to operate in the fastest way, we decided to add Shred on the Nautilus Menu and have the command ready with a simple right click on the mouse.

For this reason you have to open a Terminal and type:

sudo apt-get install nautilus-actions

Then you launch the program following this path: System->Preference->Nautilus Actions Configuration.

Last, you have to configure Shred filling e.g. the following parameters:

Label: Shred
Tooltip: Shred utility to securely erase files
Icon: gtk-dialog-warning
Path: shred
Parameters: -f -u -v -z %M
Filenames: *
Mimetypes: */*
Appears if selection contains: Both
Be sure to check the box “Appears if selection has multiple files or folders“

To finish your configuration, do not forget to open again a Terminal and type:

nautilus -q

nautilus

AddThis

BleachBit: a free, powerful software to increase your privacy on Ubuntu and Windows

Since the first release many thins has been changed on BleachBit. I perfectly remind its first version that I uninstalled because I didn’t feel comfortable with the possible disaster I could do on my Ubuntu computer. Now BleachBit is very different: more powerful and easy to use! This software can be used on Linux (in my test I used Ubuntu 10.04 LTS) and Windows. To install it on Ubuntu you have to use Synaptics ( System  —> Administration —> Synaptics) and search for bleachbit in the search bar. For the Windows installation please, download the .exe file and install it. After the installation on Ubuntu, open BleachBit going to Applications —> System Tools —> BleachBit. Now, you have a very understandable menu bar in the left side of your screen.  If you click on the main sub-menus you can automatically read some information about what every option will delete on tour PC. Moreover, if the delete options you choose are potentially dangerous, a pop up mini alert will inform you about the risks. We recommend to use the Preview option before bleaching your PS. In this way you can have a final picture of what you are doing and how many bytes are you deleting. On the preference menu you can decide to overwrite files to hide contents or to run BleachBit every time you start your computer. Last but not least, BleachBit supports many languages that you can select from Edit —> Preferences —> Languages. AddThis mp3 link